Luka Modric has won FIFA's The Best award for 2018, ending the decade-long streak held by Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

Ronaldo and Messi had won every FIFA World Player of the Year award, which was renamed the FIFA Ballon d'Or in 2010 and The Best in 2016, since 2007 when Kaka was victorious.

Modric was critical in Real Madrid winning the Champions League again this season as well as leading Croatia to the World Cup Final.