The big six of the Premier League have won their battle to be paid a greater share of income from their international TV rights.

Led by Manchester City and Liverpool, supported by Manchester United, Arsenal, Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur, the six clubs have pressed the case that as they are the prime attractions for global audiences and money paid by international broadcasters, they should receive more of the money.

As 14 clubs must approve any change to the Premier League’s rules, the required majority had not been obtained until the summer club meeting on Thursday, when the executive chairman, Richard Scudamore, announced the rule change.

Scudamore, hailing the change as an unalloyed positive, said in a statement: “This … further incentivises on-pitch achievement and maintains the Premier League’s position as the most equitable in Europe in terms of sharing central revenues. By coming together and agreeing this change, the clubs have provided a platform for the future success of the League for many years ahead.”